Book Review: Leviathan Wakes: Book One of the Expanse Series

Image used without permission under Fair Use: Review

For this first review I have picked a book I had attempted to read going on 15 times so far, as that seemed a good way to throw myself straight back in to reading. The book was Leviathan Wakes: Book One of the Expanse Series.

The book is one of a series that currently contains 7 other books; 4 main novels and 3 shorter related stories taking place around the same narrative. As mentioned, I really struggled to get into this book. It came with high praise and an author who had worked with George R. R. Martin (James S. A. Corey is a pen name used by Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck). I love the Song of Ice and Fire series so I repeatedly pushed on despite never really feeling gripped.

It’s safe to say I’m glad I did. I knew nothing but the tenuous link to Martin and that the story involved space before reading. I was pleasantly surprised to find a plot centring around an issue I had not expected, even often disliked, but was pleasantly surprised to find it handled well. I won’t spoil it here.

Stylistically the two-authors approach works superbly, giving a definite and comfortable shift in style as the narratives of the two main characters (given a chapter at a time) are welcome changes in pace and atmosphere without breaking far from the general feel of the book.

Oddly enough I have seen praise of this book as a realistic science fiction piece despite the authors own contention in the back of the book that it is not hard science. In fact, my only negative feeling was what I interpreted to be a fairly unrealistically calm appreciation of a rather important plot point.

I’m going to be picking a new book for this coming week to change things up but I will undoubtedly be returning to The Expanse Series for future reads soon.

A TV series is also expected too which might prompt the spoiler wary amongst you to crack on with the books. I definitely will be!

Leave a Reply

